Hastings Heritage Trail

Hastings Heritage Trail is an interactive architecture and design history walking tour featuring seven fascinating central Hastings locations. The trail is supported by 7 signs, a leaflet with a children’s brass rubbing and social media. The trail has been created by Hastings born photographer Maxine Beuret.

CARLISLE PARADE
UNDERGROUND CAR PARK

Designed by council engineer Sidney Little in 1931, it is Britain’s first underground car park.

Watch all seven videos here

HASTINGS CRAZY GOLF COURSE

The course was built and designed by the Arnold Palmer Putting Group in 1974. One of only 4 remaining globally, the World Crazy Golf Championship takes place here every June.

  1. Carlisle Parade/Robertson Terrace Concreate Seaview Shelters
    Carlisle Parade, Hastings, TN34
    Designed by council engineer Sidney Little in 1931. Known as the ‘Concrete King’ he developed Hastings seafront and pioneered the use of reinforced concrete.
  2. Carlisle Parade Concreate Underground Car Park
    4 Carlisle Parade, Hastings, TN34 1JG
    Designed by Sidney Little in 1931 it’s the first underground car park in the UK. Very long it is colour coding every tenth pillar.
  3. The Pelham Place Roundabout Fountain
    Pelham Place, Hastings, TN34
    In 1960 the roundabout and fountain were designed and constructed by Hastings Borough Council to improve traffic flow east to west. It remains a favourite local landmark.
  4. Hastings Crazy Golf Course
    Pelham Place, Hastings, TN34 3AJ
    The course was built and designed by the Arnold Palmer Putting Group in 1974. One of only 4 remaining globally, the World Crazy Golf Championship takes place here every June.
  5. The West Hill Lift
    George Street, Hastings, TN34 3EA
    Opened in 1891 the West Hill Lift retains its beautiful original wooden Victorian coaches and runs through a tunnel. The view from the top stretches out across the Channel.
  6. The Net Shop & Jellied Eel Bar
    Address: 7a Rock-a-Nore, Hastings, East Sussex, TN34 3DW
    Built in 1968 this third generation family business serves fresh crabs, whelks and fish rolls caught locally by the boats opposite. Open every day apart from Christmas day.
  7. Tamarisk Steps
    Rock-a-Nore Road, Hastings, East Sussex, TN34 3DW
    The first written record of the steps is 1839. The narrow stone passageway known in Sussex as a ‘twitten’ ends at the Lookout, which has a great view over Hastings and the beach.

About the Trail

Please feel free to take your own photographs and videos at each location and share them with us via the website, social media using the tag #hastingsheritagetrail, or email info@hastingstrail.co.uk

Your pictures will be available to view on the website and social media. Thanks for sharing.

In Situ.

At each trail location In Situ design collective has designed a unique cube display  point featuring photographs & text – to create an engaging depiction of each place in its own special atmosphere.

Hastings Borough Council.

Hastings Borough Council strongly supports the trail that links with the Destination America Ground and White Rock Hastings.

Old Hastings Preservation Society.

A great source of local historical knowledge and encouragement has come from the Old Hastings Preservation Society.

Contact & Interact

If you have questions, suggestions or comments about the Hastings Heritage Art Trail, or would like to find out more, please feel free to contact us.

(+44) 07970 104299

info@hastingstrail.co.uk

Supported using public funding from Arts Council England.